With first snow in Western Massachusetts, crow roost takes shape in Springfield

(c) Greg Saulmon 2012

I stopped for gas on Main Street in Springfield’s North End this afternoon and noticed a lot of crows moving through the neighborhood. So, I followed them.

At first I thought they might be headed up to the area near Tapley and Albany streets, which were popular roosting and staging areas last year. Instead, though, I found a large group congregating in a vacant lot behind the Spanish Christian Church near the corner of Chestnut Street and Jefferson Avenue.

The lot is a tangle of blown-down trees, and crows were arriving in droves between 3:30 and 4 p.m.

I didn’t observe them long enough to determine whether this location is a staging area or the roost itself. But I did stay just long enough for a man to come out of his house and ask what the deal was with all the birds.

“It looks like that movie,” he said.

I explained that in the fall and winter hundreds or thousands of crows gather in certain spots to roost at night.

“So, are they going to keep coming here?” he asked.

I told him it was hard to say — but that I’d be interested in keeping an eye on them.

2 comments
  1. Lorrin said:

    Great shot, Greg. I feel a lot better knowing I’m not the only person who stalks crows…

  2. Lorrin –

    Thanks!

    MassAudubon, through Arcadia, runs a great program called “Winter Crows”, usually in Feb. I think. It’s a classroom talk followed by field observation in Springfield.

    I went last year and had a blast, and met some really great people. I’ll probably post a little promotion for it here this year to let folks know it’s happening.

    – Greg

Leave a Reply

