Recent Holyoke sightings: Redpolls, Mallards, Mergansers and Mute Swans

(c) Greg Saulmon 2013

(c) Greg Saulmon 2013

I’m catching up on logging some sightings from Sunday, Feb. 3, the day after I got some nice looks at a Ruby-crowned Kinglet and a pair of Carolina Wrens between the paper mills and the Connecticut River.

I started out in a mostly quiet Heritage State Park and then swung by the city library, spotting three Cooper’s Hawks along the way. There were few songbirds downtown, though, save for a pair of goldfinches in the park.

Next I checked behind the paper mills and along the river. A trio of Common Redpolls was a nice find. While I’ve seen reports of flocks numbering 60 or more elsewhere in the Pioneer Valley this winter, I have yet to see more than two or three at a time in Holyoke.

Below, more pictures of the redpolls and some of the waterfowl along the river.

(c) Greg Saulmon 2013

(c) Greg Saulmon 2013

(c) Greg Saulmon 2013

(c) Greg Saulmon 2013

(c) Greg Saulmon 2013

(c) Greg Saulmon 2013

(c) Greg Saulmon 2013

(c) Greg Saulmon 2013

(c) Greg Saulmon 2013

(c) Greg Saulmon 2013

2 comments
  1. Melissa said:

    I was down at the Connecticut river yesterday, and I also saw a common merganser, which was a first for me. I also finally saw the bald eagle!

    • Awesome, Melissa! The eagles are something, aren’t they?

      If you’re spotting mergansers, keep an eye out for Common Goldeneyes, too. They’re a cool waterbird. I only started noticing them over the past few weeks. I’ve seen instances where a lone Goldeneye or Merganser is hanging out among a large group of Canada Geese or Mallards, so it always pays to look twice!

Leave a Reply

