Photos: Red-tail in Springfield

An alert co-worker called me from the newspaper parking lot today to tell me that a hawk had just killed a pigeon, and was using the roof of our building as its lunch table.

It was time for my own lunch, anyway, but by the time I got outside the hawk had carried its meal to a nearby tree, eventually settling in a pine tree near Main Street. Here are a few shots:

(c) Greg Saulmon 2013

(c) Greg Saulmon 2013

(c) Greg Saulmon 2013

(c) Greg Saulmon 2013

(c) Greg Saulmon 2013

(c) Greg Saulmon 2013

 

 

2 comments
  1. Lorrin said:

    Great shots, Greg! I see the Mother often going between Court Square and the Clear Channel roof. I think they may be nesting in the vacant enclosure on top of 73 Elm St. at Court Sq.

  2. Terrific shots, Greg! I’ll take a run downtown tomorrow for a look.

Leave a Reply

