Love is in the air (for Holyoke’s kestrels)

(c) Greg Saulmon 2013

(c) Greg Saulmon 2013

I hadn’t planned on stopping to check on the kestrels during a drive around Holyoke this afternoon, but when I saw this guy on a wire near the nest I felt obliged to stop.

I’m glad I did, because apparently what he’s thinking here is, “Hey, girl.” A moment later, he took flight and joined the female on a nearby utility pole. And then:

(c) Greg Saulmon 2013

(c) Greg Saulmon 2013

The incubation period for kestrels, according to the Cornell Lab of Ornithology, is 26-32 days. The nestling period is another 28-31 days.

In years past, Don Cooper has told me, the kestrels at this nest have fledged around the first week of July. And, for a little history on this nest: Don showed me a photo the other day that he took of kestrels at this site along Holyoke’s canals in 2006.

 

 

1 comment

Leave a Reply

