Sunday morning sightings: Cardinal, Blue Jay in Heritage State Park

A few common birds that I don’t see too often in Heritage State Park were hanging around this morning.

20130414-095335.jpg

I saw the female Cardinal only; she spent a lot of time singing, but no male showed up while I watched her. I’ve seen a male Cardinal somewhat regularly near a vacant lot on Race Street, but I believe this is the first time I’ve seen either a male or female in the park.

A handful of Blue Jays have also been making appearances over the last few days:

20130414-095323.jpg

And, in addition to the pair of Canada Geese nesting along one of the canals, I’ve seen a lot of geese using the canals as a sort of flyway. Here’s one half of a pair that flew through the city this morning:

20130414-095347.jpg

Leave a Reply

